Changes to Port Phillip electoral wards

    Published 23 February 2024
    We’re moving to a single councillor ward structure for the October 2024 election

    Following an independent review from an electoral representation advisory panel, the City of Port Phillip will move to a single member ward structure for the October 2024 election. This is in line with the recommendations in the Local Government Act 2020, and we join 39 other councils moving to the single ward structure.

    This means that the City of Port Phillip will move from having three wards with three councillors per ward, to nine wards with one councillor per ward.

    The new wards will be named:

    • Albert Park Ward
    • Alma Ward
    • Balaclava Ward
    • Elwood Ward
    • Lakeside Ward
    • Montague Ward
    • Port Melbourne Ward
    • South Melbourne Ward
    • St Kilda Ward

    To ensure fair and equitable representation of all voters, each ward has approximately equal number of voters.

    You can see an outline of how these wards are structured in the map below.

    To learn more about how the panel came to this decision, you can read the full electoral structure review final report for City of Port Phillip online.  

    In the lead up to the election we look forward to sharing more information with you, including how you can nominate to be on Council, how to enrol to vote, and when voting will take place. In the meantime, you can find out more on our Council elections page.