We-Akon Dilinja

We-akon Dilinja, a mourning reflection event, was livestreamed from Alfred Square at 6 am Wednesday 26 January.

This was the third year the event has been held as part of City of Port Phillip's commemorations on Australia Day, presented in partnership with the Boonwurrung Land and Sea Council.

Healing through Remembrance, Reflection and Recognition

In 2022, the We-akon Dilinja ceremony was appropriately themed Healing through Remembrance, Reflection and Recognition. 

We-Akon Dilinja is presented by the Boonwurrung Land and Sea Council and supported by Port Phillip Council and the National Australia Day Council. 2022 will be the third year this event is held as part of City of Port Phillip's Australia Day program. The culture and history of the Boonwurrung Traditional Owners will be conveyed through readings, music and a smoking ceremony. A multi-faith component adds to the inclusive spirit of the event, now in its third year. To ensure we remain as COVID-safe as possible, the event will also be live streamed on this page, which will allow people across Australia to witness the ceremony.

Live stream Wednesday 26 January 2022

WE-AKON DILINJA PROGRAM (Alfred Square, St Kilda) pdf

We-Akon Dilinja program
Wednesday, 26th January 2022
Alfred Square, St Kilda

5.45 am    Arrival requested
6.00 am    Didgeridoo player – Kiernan Ironfield
6.02 am    MC – Bo Svoronos
6.04 am    Boonwurrung Welcome song – James Henry (written by James Henry & Jarra Steel)
6.06 am    Welcome to Country and Introduction – Parbinata Dr Carolyn Briggs AM
6.10 am    N’arweet Jason Briggs
6.15 am    Boonwurrung song – “Long Time Living Here” – Shauntai Batzke (written by Deborah Cheetham AO, Parbinata Carolyn Briggs, Jarra Steel & Aunty Fay Stewart Muir)
6.17 am    1st reading – Dick Gross
6.19 am    Shofar with Jewish prayer – Rabbi Gabi Kaltmann
6.21 am    Wiradjuri song – Babirra Nyiwarri Gariya Giran – Shauntai Batzke (written by Shauntai Batzke)
6.23 am    2nd reading – Cr Marcus Pearl, Mayor City of Port Phillip
6.25 am    Tribute to past Boonwurrung Elders – Parbinata Carolyn Briggs & Michael Julian
6.30 am    Boonwurrung song – Balayang (written by Marbee Williams) & Yuwaalaraay song – Murrgumurrgu (written by James Henry) – James Henry (lead vocals) accompanied by Michael Julian (percussion) & Caerwen Martin (cello)
6.35 am    Smoking Ceremony – David Tournier
7.00 am    Close

2021 ceremony and program

Assisted by the Australian Government through the National Australia Day Council