

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PORT PHILLIP CITY COUNCIL

MINUTES

8 JUNE 2021



Please consider the environment before printing



Consider carefully how the information in this document is transmitted

MINUTES - SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PORT PHILLIP CITY COUNCIL - 8 JUNE 2021



MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PORT PHILLIP CITY COUNCIL HELD 8 JUNE 2021 IN ST KILDA TOWN HALL

The meeting opened at 6:30pm.

PRESENT

Cr Crawford (Chairperson), Cr Baxter, Cr Bond, Cr Clark, Cr Copsey, Cr Cunsolo, Cr Martin, Cr Pearl, Cr Sirakoff

IN ATTENDANCE

Peter Smith, Chief Executive Officer, Lili Rosic, General Manager Development Transport and City Amenity, Tony Keenan, General Manager Community Wellbeing and Inclusion, Chris Carroll, General Manager Customer Operations and Infrastructure, Kylie Bennetts, General Manager City Growth and Organisational Capability. Rachel Russell, Manager Governance and Organisational Performance, Kirsty Pearce, Head of Governance, Emily Williams, Council Meetings Officer, Dennis OKeeffe, Chief Financial Officer.

The City of Port Phillip respectfully acknowledges the Yalukut Weelam Clan of the Boon Wurrung. We pay our respect to their Elders, both past and present. We acknowledge and uphold their continuing relationship to this land.

1. APOLOGIES

Nil.

2. DECLARATIONS OF CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

The Mayor advised that the purpose of the meeting is for the hearing of submissions from members of the public. Councillors may ask clarifying questions of the public or of officers but will refrain from discussing, debating or making decisions on the Budget, in order not to prejudice any upcoming council decision on the Council Plan and Budget.



3.1 Council Plan 2021-31 and Budget 2021/22: Hearing of submissions

The following speakers made a verbal submission in relation to this item:

To hear full submissions and view a complete recording of the meeting, go to <u>http://webcast.portphillip.vic.gov.au/archive.php.</u>

Full copies of all redacted submissions can be found on the '2021 Meetings and Agendas' page of Council's website at: <u>https://www.portphillip.vic.gov.au/about-the-council/council-meetings/2021-meetings-and-agendas</u>

The Mayor adjourned the meeting for short breaks to allow officers time to administer virtual attendees at 7.50pm and 8.55pm.

- Josh Burns MP
- Freda Erlich
- Coralie Ling
- Craig Francis
- Anu Bajwa
- Trina Lewis
- Hugo Armstrong
- Jack Revens
- Linda Condon
- Simon Strickland
- Georgina Tsolidis
- Tim Norman
- Adrienne James
- Siegfried Angerer
- Scott Graham
- Michael Crewdson
- Helen Halliday
- Jack Halliday
- Matthew Unsworth
- Pennie Brown
- David Sequeira
- John Spierings

- Greg Gibbins
- James McCaughey on behalf of Bill Armstrong
- Ann Wigglesworth
- Pat Jessen
- Rachel Powning
- Jen Hughes
- Megs Alston
- Jane Crouch
- Campbell Spence
- Linda Davison
- Catriona Sinclair
- Vivienne Corcoran
- Charlie Beckley
- Lauren O'Dwyer
- Lisa Newcombe on behalf of Antonia Syme
- Nicole Beyer
- David Brand
- Sharon Meredith
- Phillip Adams
- Carmel Shute
- April Seymore

MINUTES - SPECIAL MEETING OF THE PORT PHILLIP CITY COUNCIL - 8 JUNE 2021



- David Pledger
- Josh Szental
- Brenda Forbath
- Rhonda Small
- Simon Kosmer
- Ann Byrne
- Joanne Slatter
- John Bortolussi
- Denise Cox
- Justin Halliday
- Anne Michaels
- Lawrence Dowd
- Dick Gross
- Judith Klepner
- Natalie Davey
- Leslie Rosenblatt
- Philip Heuzenroeder
- Paul Hickey
- Ella Caldwell
- Alison Richards

- Sue Higgins
- Peta Wetzels
- Kristen Smyth
- Tara Winslow
- Cat Mapperson
- Margot Brock
- Belinda Pye
- Beti Jay
- Janet Rosenberg
- Carolyn Hutchens
- Sarah Fleming
- Kent Morris
- Jane Reid
- Peter Moraitis
- Estelle Ihász
- Judy Gunson
- Robert Davis
- Rob Mahoney

The following people submitted statements prior to the meeting which were read out in summary by a Council officer, these can be listened to on councils website: http://webcast.portphillip.vic.gov.au/archive.php

- Leigh Raymond
- Chris Hunt
- Julie Hourigan
- Liv Mitchell
- Jacqueline Robinson
- Jenni Roper
- Gina Fiske
- Richard Ludlow



1.1 To receive and hear public submissions on the updated Council Plan 2021-31, including the draft Budget 2021/22.

MOVED Crs Pearl/Bond

That Council:

- 3.1 Receives the report detailing the submissions received on the Council Plan 2021-31, including the draft Budget 2021/22.
- 3.2 Hears from those who have requested to speak in support of their submission at the meeting on 8 June 2021.
- 3.3 Notes the Council Plan and Budget will be presented for adoption at the Council Meeting on 23 June 2021.

The vote was taken under division

FOR: Crs Baxter, Crawford, Cunsolo, Bond, Sirakoff, Copsey, Martin, Pearl and Clark

AGAINST: Nil

A vote was taken and the MOTION was CARRIED unanimously.

The meeting closed at 10:45pm.

Confirmed: 16 June 2021

Chairperson